A microbrewery for book-lovers

Sir Walter Scott Prize 2021 Longlists Mr. Beethoven!

The UK’s leading prize for historical fiction longlists Paul Griffiths!

The novel we published in Beethoven’s 250th anniversary year will be celebrated in Sir Walter Scott’s 250th year by the the prize that bears his name.

Paul Griffiths and Mr. Beethoven find themselves in the estimable company of THE MIRROR AND THE LIGHT by Hilary Mantel (4th Estate) and HAMNET by Maggie O’Farrell (Headline). The prize helped establish Benjamin Myers’ The Gallows Pole (Bluemoose Books) in 2018.

Mr. Beethoven by Paul Griffiths and The Blackbird by Claire Allen are the first two titles in our Historiographic Fictions series, in which we publish novels that add new techniques to the writing of historical fiction. (Buy both titles direct from our shop and you will qualify for free UK postage).

You can buy Mr. Beethoven direct here (The Goldsmiths Prize 2020 shortlist; Sir Walter Scott Prize 2021 longlist; Republic of Consciousness Prize 2021 longlist; a book of the year 2020 in The White Review).

Trade orders can be placed via Ingram (NBNi) and Gardners.

Some copies of the handmade Artists Book edition are also still available for pre-order. Email us for details.

Paul Griffiths reads from his longlisted novel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.

You may use these <abbr title="HyperText Markup Language">HTML</abbr> tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.